Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How should the state manage wildlife (pigs etc.)? Survey.

+11
BRIAN AKINA
alikaf
kuniole pua'a!!!
Kauai Boy
PORKHUNGRY
Koa Boa
Nic Barca
hog killahz inc.
HYPA
Ikestr
Cheryl Lohr
15 posters

Go down

How should the state manage wildlife (pigs etc.)? Survey. Empty How should the state manage wildlife (pigs etc.)? Survey.

Post  Cheryl Lohr Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:47 pm

To all the hunters in Hawai`i,
My name is Cheryl Lohr and I am a graduate student at The University of Hawai`i at Mānoa. I am conducting research into the beliefs, values and preferences held by hunters, throughout the Hawaiian Islands, in regards to wildlife and conservation. In other words, I want to know why you hunt, whether or not you have enough places and enough animals to hunt, and whether you think hunting is helping or hindering conservation in Hawai`i.

This research requires that I send surveys to hunters across Hawai`i within the next 9-18 months. The surveys will contain questions asking for your thoughts on: current hunting regulations in the State of Hawai`i; whether you would like to see more or less of a particular animal (including pigs, goats, cattle, turkeys etc.); your ability to access public land; whether you believe hunting is a cultural right; and whether hunting is helping or hindering conservation. Your answers to these questions will be compared to the answers of a number of other groups of people including; conservation biologists, animal welfare advocates, and farmers, to determine what the people of Hawai`i, as a single group want for the future of these islands. It is important that your voice is heard!