Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bowfishing

+3
CAVE CANEM
K KAINOA KENNELS
UpFront
7 posters

Go down

Bowfishing Empty Bowfishing

Post  UpFront Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:15 pm

Is anybody here into it?
Does anyone know what the regs are here in Hawaii?
I am headed to Minnesota next month to do some fishing and my friend wants to do some bowfishing as well but I have never done it before. They have a Muzzy Extreme bowfishing kit down at Sports Authority and I was thinking about slapping it on my recurve and trying it out. My plan was to just go ocean, palu the reef, but I don't know if it's legal.
UpFront
UpFront
big daddy boar
big daddy boar

Back to top Go down

Bowfishing Empty Re: Bowfishing

Post  K KAINOA KENNELS Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:36 pm

DID NOT HEAR OF IT BUT WHEN YOU COME BACK LET ME NO WHAT KIND FISH WE EATINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG Very Happy

K KAINOA KENNELS
big daddy boar
big daddy boar

Back to top Go down

Post  CAVE CANEM Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:04 pm

Bowfishing here in Hawaii is under the same regulations as Spearfishing so i believe the only regulations would be the size limits on certain species of fish. You could palu and see what you can bring up or you could lace up your hiking boots and cruise the coastline. If you plan on going the palu method you just gotta factor in what fish you plan on eating tonight and change up the ingredients. Good luck!
CAVE CANEM
CAVE CANEM
big daddy boar
big daddy boar

Back to top Go down

Post  MAUKAKANE1 Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:15 am

Aloha Upfront,

Just watch the legal size and if the target fish has a open or closed season, other than that it doesnt seem to have alot regarding rules and regs as far as I know, maybe because it is only popular with a hand few compared to mammal hunting. This is my experience though and you should research as much as possible about it,but as I said probably not alot of info out there.