Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Do you have an opinion about how pigs are managed etc?

Go down

Do you have an opinion about how pigs are managed etc? Empty Do you have an opinion about how pigs are managed etc?

Post  Cheryl Lohr Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:42 pm

Dear Pet Owner/Carer,
My name is Cheryl Lohr and I am a graduate researcher in the Wildlife Ecology, Management and Conservation laboratory at The University of Hawai`i at Mānoa. I am conducting research into the beliefs and values held by people in Hawai‘i in regards to introduced wildlife (pigs, axis deer, mouflon etc) feral animals (feral cats, wild parrots, red-eared slider turtles, Jackson's chameleons etc), wildife management and conservation. This research requires that I send a survey to anyone who hunts, uses, or works with these animals.

The aim of my research is to provide information to politicians and environmental professionals so they can develop better wildlife management policies, policies that reflect the desires the people of Hawai‘i have for their islands. This is a chance for you to have a say, and for your opinion to be a part of a bottom-up approach to designing management plans for Hawai‘i's wildlife. Your opinion may change which technique (eg snares or more access for hunters) the professionals use to manage some species of introduced wildlife. You do not need any specific knowledge or training to be a part of this research, you only need to have an opinion and either hunt or work with these animals.