Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Hunting.

3 posters

Go down

New to Hunting. Empty New to Hunting.

Post  Noah Fri Dec 05, 2008 7:06 am

Howzit everybody i am new to the sport of hunting and is wondering if there is any advice anybody has to offer, i am a big fan of bow-hunting and would like to get in to it. im not really sure on what type of bow i should get or even where to go hunt? i am also trying to get my hunting license right now, and was wondering if anybody has extra time, they could show me how its done or just give me any advice. Thanks alot- greatly appreciate it.

Noah
Piglet
Piglet

Back to top Go down

New to Hunting. Empty Re: New to Hunting.

Post  Misadventure Gear Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:38 pm

Aloha Noah,

the most important consideration in buying a bow is to get one that fits you in draw length and draw weight. Trying to draw a bow with too heavy a draw weight can lead to shoulder injuries. To measure your draw length, you can take a yardstick, place one end in the center of your chest and put your hands out in front of you, palm to palm. Where your fingertips are on the yardstick will give you a good starting point for finding your draw length. If you are on Oahu, go check out the Island Archer by the airport. They can help you measure your draw length, and help you get set up with a bow. If you are on Maui, give me a call, and I'll help.