Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Wildlife Management....Do you have an opinion?

4 posters

Go down

Wildlife Management....Do you have an opinion? Empty Wildlife Management....Do you have an opinion?

Post  blufin10 Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:55 am

Eric's recent call to arms regarding SB60 and SB199, (legislation aimed at eliminating the practice of baiting) got me thinking, once again
about my personal opinions regading effective Wildlife Management.

I may have went alittle overboard in my letter to the senator...but what the heck Smile

I thought I'd post it here to see if it illicited any other opinions and might foster a discussion....or not.

Hopefully this set was not best kept to myself....Don't mean to ofend anyone and I certainly am not professing to know-it-all...
just thought this might get you' al thinking bout what you think

Senator,

I am a wildlife/fisheries biologist by education and trade as well as a lifelong avid hunter. The problem of nonnative ungulate control in hawaii is one requiring a great deal of cooperation between researchers, managers and associated agencies, enforcement, land owners, as well as those who utilize the resources directly. The need for nonnative ungulate control has been and will continue to be a pressing concern for all those concerned with native habitat and ecosystem restoration and is integral to the overall diversity, health, and robustness of our severely damaged terrestrial ecosystems. This state has a history of mismanagement of terrestrial ecosystems with very few success stories to be told. The ability to effectively control wild pig populations is limited to available tools, cooperation, and whose course has most often been dictated by political and socioeconomic influences. In order for this important facet of terestrial ecosystem management to be effective it must be based on sound science including reliable population trends and s