Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Goat meat...what's the best way to prepare it?

+8
Koa Boa
Babooze
Nic Barca
kimo
HYPA
AK Andy
UpFront
Fletch73
12 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Goat meat...what's the best way to prepare it? Empty Goat meat...what's the best way to prepare it?

Post  Fletch73 Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:12 am

Hey, I just joined and need to ask you for some help. I'm planning on getting some goat hunts in this year on Oahu and wanted to ask you the best way to handle the meat? I haven't had wild goat before, but have liked pretty much all wild game I have tried. What do you do as far as marinades, how tough is it, how gamey is it, what are you folks doing? I'm thinking Tex-Mex grilled tacos or smoked BBQ goat, but wanted to make sure...I want to do it up right! I'm new to hunting goats, so any help you can give me about them here on Oahu(any island)would be awesome! Thanks-Scott

Fletch73
Piglet
Piglet

Back to top Go down

Goat meat...what's the best way to prepare it? Empty Re: Goat meat...what's the best way to prepare it?

Post  UpFront Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:36 am

Hey Scott, welcome to the board. I'm out in Kapolei as well and also plan on doing some goat hunts coming up here pretty soon. I'm in the same boat as you, I've never hunted them, or ate them before. Every time I ask around my hunting buddies about goats they don't seem too interested and I get remarks about how bad they stink. I'm not gonna knock em til I tried em. I think most guys smoke or heavily marinate the meat in teriyaki sauce.
UpFront
UpFront
big daddy boar
big daddy boar

Back to top Go down

Goat meat...what's the best way to prepare it? Empty got goat?

Post  AK Andy Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:07 am