Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Oahu pig gun

3 posters

Go down

Oahu pig gun Empty Oahu pig gun

Post  elevated Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:10 pm

hey all,

I'm a pretty newbie hunter here and planning a move back home to oahu from cali in about 2 years. It's a long story but I have to wait the 2 years to get all the bs in order to not quarantine my dog...sucks.

Anyway I have a question about hunting on oahu. First off I'll mostly be hunting pigs on oahu and hopefully some deer and birds on the other islands. I got the shotgun covered for birds etc. I am going to purchase my first rifle in a few months here in cali. I decided I am going to get a 30-06 for deer and pigs up here. I probably can only afford one other rifle before moving back home to Oahu and I really want a marlin lever action rifle. I also want it in the 45-70 caliber. If you ask me why, I don't know it's just big mean and I like it. I also want a little variety from the 30-06 and I want the iron sights for pigs in hawaii. All the guys say it's a good pig gun for up here in cali. I also like it cause it seems more maneuverable.

Will the marlin in 45-70 be a bad idea for a pig gun on oahu and outer islands?
elevated
elevated
Piglet
Piglet

Back to top Go down

Oahu pig gun Empty Re: Oahu pig gun

Post  huntachad Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:15 pm