Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Bowhunting in Hawaii

3 posters

Go down

New to Bowhunting in Hawaii Empty New to Bowhunting in Hawaii

Post  kt8489 Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:55 am

Im new to hunting in Hawaii and new to bowhunting. Im trying to get some pointers on where to go and what are the best times and so forth. I live in Kailua, Oahu and just want some info. Thanks in advance.

Kevin

kt8489
Piglet
Piglet

Back to top Go down

New to Bowhunting in Hawaii Empty Re: New to Bowhunting in Hawaii

Post  huntachad Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:05 pm

Don't know about saying where to go bowhunting. A person's secret spot will always be their own. But there are publc hunting areas designated on Oahu that are specifically for bowhunters. To me, if you bowhunt you own the pot of gold. You can pratically hunt anywhere with a bow. Legally or illegally... LOL. My best places for bowhunting was all non-designated areas if you know what I mean... Although it has been a long while since I have hunted with a bow, my best times were the afternoon hunts. I would leave the house at around 230 - 300pm and stay in the hills until dark. The best time for me was just before the sun went down.
I recommend going to island archer on Oahu or going to the Kapolei archery range to hook up and talk to fellow bow hunters. You may just luck out and get together with someone who just might show you the ropes. Sorry I rarely bowhunt anymore. Any questions pm me and I will be glad to try and answer any questions you may have. Aloha - Chad

huntachad
big daddy boar
big daddy boar

Back to top Go down

Post  kt8489 Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:43 pm

appreciate the info chad. every little bit helps

kt8489
Piglet
Piglet

Back to top Go down

Post  RustyKnife Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:21 pm

Hey brah,