Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Alone and need boar hunting guidance - Oahu

5 posters

Go down

Alone and need boar hunting guidance - Oahu Empty Alone and need boar hunting guidance - Oahu

Post  Sanction Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:04 am

Hey guys. I am hoping I can seek some advice here on this forum.

I actually completed the Hawaii hunter ed course with my now-wife a year or two ago; I just have no idea where or even how to start. I basically grew up in Waikiki/Honolulu and I have no friends that share the same interests or desire to hunt; they're all too busy watching Jersey Shore or American Idol. Well, the bug to start hunting has caught me again and once again I find myself pouring over information on the interwebz, trying to find somewhere a complete noob can start; and once again I find my interest waning as I become increasingly overwhelmed with what I find.

So this is where I'm at right now:
I don't have any dogs; I don't have a bow, but buying one does sound like a good investment since there are archery-only seasons (I've never shot one before though); I do own firearms - .22, .223, and .308. I have 2 pistols but neither will fit the requirement of a min 5" barrel for semi-autos. I have the hunter ed cert and ready to get the license any time. I don't think I have any particular 'gear' I think is worth mentioning. I have hiking boots and cargo pants. I am primarily looking at boar, but may be interested in goats and birds if I ever get started.

My only experience hunting is at D&B's playing Big Game Hunter a few years ago.

Is the best way just go out there and hike around first? Anyone willing to take a beginner? Heck, are there paid guides that can teach these stuffs?

Any other advice in starting from scratch?

Anything will be appreciated, thanks guys Very Happy

Sanction
Piglet
Piglet

Back to top Go down