Hawaii Sportsman
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bird Dogs

+2
bigislandhunter
CAVE CANEM
6 posters

Go down

Bird Dogs Empty Bird Dogs

Post  CAVE CANEM Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:23 am

Anyone here into bird hunting?? I've gone along with my step dad and a few of his friends a few times using their dogs and also went a few times by myself with no dog. My brother in law recently gave my little sister a Pointer/Lab puppy and I have been given the "job" of training him to hunt bird. I have no experience in training a dog to hunt bird but so far I have taught him (still working on) Come Sit and Whoa and introduced him to the wings of birds on the end of my Oama pole to get him pointing and interested in birds. My neighbor has a few Kalij running around her yard that I let him stalk and point and then let him flush out but I cannot shoot them cause the lady likes them but am I messing him up by not shooting them?? He is 6 months old and full of energy! I have heard my brother in law is running his brother on pig already and he has already been on 4 pigs but my little sister wouldn't have it if I took our puppy out to run with my pack so I guess he will have to stick to birds!
CAVE CANEM
CAVE CANEM
big daddy boar
big daddy boar

Back to top Go down

Bird Dogs Empty Re: Bird Dogs

Post  bigislandhunter Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:32 am

I would suggest you to buy just a cap gun to shoot when the bird flushes. It is like rewarding the dog for the good point. The best way to train a young pup is too make them run with other well trained dogs. Any other question just send me a pm
bigislandhunter
bigislandhunter
big daddy boar
big daddy boar

Back to top Go down

Post  CAVE CANEM Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:32 am